Münchner Volkstheater

The new building of the Munich Volkstheater emerged from a Europe-wide procedure that the city of Munich had put out to tender. Thanks to the collaborative efforts which had already proven successful in several projects in the past, Georg Reisch GmbH & Co. KG, as a team with its specialist planners and the architects from LRO Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, was able to secure the commission.
Designing a theatre building is an exceedingly difficult task. For one thing, it calls for excellent architecture – because the endeavor results in a building that demonstrates what the public sector understands building culture to be. For another thing, the primarily prestige-related ambition relates to the building’s impact within the urban space, on the lobby and, with slight limitations, also on the auditoriums. For the latter, the technical requirements of acoustics and lighting technology have a major influence on the interior design. The stage curtain manifests the boundary between those spaces that constitute a special aesthetic challenge and those that, due to their functional relationships – paired with their extreme technical requirements – demand an entirely different approach. Whereas the smaller part must please the attending public, the much larger backstage part of a theatre caters to the production and the staging of performances.
The site is located on the premises of what had previously been Munich’s municipal abattoir and stockyard. In addition, one wing of the existing building complex was to be integrated into the project. The aim was to create a new building that is sufficiently distinctive while also reflecting the history of the place. All in all, a new urban district – with residential buildings, infrastructure facilities and educational and cultural institutions – is currently being created on the approximately 50-hectare site of the old stockyards. The Volkstheater is a focal point by virtue of its size alone, and it forms an edge to the development, delimiting it from the densely built neighbourhood to the west.
Münchner Volkstheater meets abattoir: what does this mean for the cultural institution’s physical appearance? Parts of the abattoir to the north of the site are still in operation. Bricks are a prominent characteristic of the existing buildings – an industrial architecture composed of historicizing remains from the 1920s and, by way of contrast, unadorned, large-scale post-war buildings. So it was a natural choice to use brick for the outer shell of the new building.
Between the existing historical building, which is a narrow linear block on the north side of the site, and the new lobby, we placed a courtyard that opens out to the street through a large arched opening. The archway connects the old and new building. Opposite this, the facade of the new building opens up at the main entrance. The adjoining portion of the courtyard has benches and tables for guests of the theatre restaurant, which is also accessible from here.
Since in the summer months the trees in the small square impair the visibility of the theater entrances, there is a stele at the interface between the archway and the new building, which also indicates the use of the theater behind the modest old buildings as a sign in the urban space. The workshops are located on Tumblingerstrasse and offer passers-by a glimpse behind the scenes of the theater.
The plasticity of the building and its height graduation result from the functional conditions. The technical building systems, which are set back and form the next higher layer, are encased along the thermal envelope with a folded grid structure made of fine metal rods. The stage tower received a semi-transparent membrane facade.
The lobby, as well as the vestibule and the gastronomic facility, will have generous glass facades that can be fully opened towards the courtyard in summer. The elongated configuration of the lobby results from the plot’s geometry. It catches the eye with its distinctive color scheme. The stage zones and the area for deliveries, workshops and storage rooms occupy the southern part of the permissible building footprint, and in between are the main auditorium, which seats 600 people, and a second venue with an audience of 200. The administrative tract forms the eastern side of the building and is connected to the existing buildings.
In mid-October, Artistic Director Christian Stückl will open the house with a first performance.

Client:
Landeshauptstadt München, Kommunalreferat vertreten durch das Baureferat

General Contractor:
Georg Reisch GmbH & Co. KG, Bad Saulgau

Architects:
LRO Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Team:
Katja Pütter, Alexander Hochstraßer, Lina Müller, Philipp Kraus, Levin Koch, Johannes Brambring, Jean-Philippe Maul

Procedure for general contractor services:
12/2016 - 1. Preis

Beginning of the planning phase:
2018-2021

Gross floor area:
30.134 sqm

Effective area:
24.432 sqm

Location:
Tumblingerstraße 27, 80337 München

Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater

Münchner Volkstheater

Der Neubau des Münchner Volkstheaters ging aus einem europaweiten Verfahren hervor, das die Stadt München ausgeschrieben hatte. Dank der bereits in der Vergangenheit bei mehreren Projekten bewährten Zusammenarbeit konnte die Georg Reisch GmbH & Co. KG im Team mit ihren Fachplanern und den Architekten von LRO Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei das Verfahren für sich entscheiden.
Die Planung für einen Theaterbau hat es in sich. Auf der einen Seite verlangt die Aufgabe nach ausgezeichneter Architektur, handelt es sich doch um ein Gebäude, mit dem die öffentliche Hand zeigt, was sie unter Baukultur versteht. Auf der anderen Seite bezieht
sich der vorwiegend repräsentative Anspruch auf die Wirkung im Stadtraum, auf das Foyer und, mit leichten Einschränkungen, auch auf die Zuschauerräume. Bei Letzteren haben die technischen Bedingungen von Akustik und Lichttechnik einen großen Einfluss auf die Raumgestaltung. Der Bühnenvorhang bildet dabei die Grenze zwischen jenen Räumen, die eine besondere ästhetische Herausforderung darstellen, und jenen, die wegen ihrer Funktionszusammenhänge – verbunden mit ihren extremen technischen Bedingungen – eine ganz andere Herangehensweise erfordern. Während der kleinere Teil dem Publikum gefallen muss, dient der rückwärtige, viel größere Bereich eines Theaters der Produktion und dem Aufführungsbetrieb.
Das Gebäude befindet sich auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Schlacht- und Viehhofs der Stadt München. Zudem war ein Gebäudeflügel des denkmalgeschützten Bestands in das Projekt zu integrieren. Der Neubau sollte genügend repräsentativ sein, andererseits aber auch von der Geschichte des Ortes berichten. Insgesamt entsteht nun auf dem etwa 50 Hektar messenden Areal des alten Viehhofs ein neues Stadtquartier mit Wohnbauten, Infrastruktureinrichtungen und Projekten für Bildung und Kultur. Das Volkstheater bildet dabei, allein durch seine Größe, einen Schwerpunkt und schließt das Gelände nach Westen zur dicht bebauten Nachbarschaft hin ab.
Münchner Volkstheater und Schlachthof: Was bedeutet das für die Erscheinung der Kultureinrichtung? Noch sind Teile des Schlachthofes nördlich des Grundstückes in Betrieb. Ziegel prägen das Bild der Bestandsbauten – eine Industriearchitektur, die sich aus historisierenden Resten aus den 1920er Jahren und demgegenüber glatten, großflächigen Nachkriegsbauten zusammensetzt. Es war naheliegend, das Material Ziegel für die Gebäudehülle des Neubaus zu verwenden.
Zwischen dem Altbau, einem schmalen Gebäuderiegel an der Nordseite des Grundstücks, und dem neuen Foyer ist ein Hof positioniert, der sich mit einem großen Bogen zur Straße hin öffnet. Der Torbogen verbindet Alt- und Neubau. Gegenüber öffnet sich die Fassade des Neubaus mit seinem Haupteingang. Im anschließenden Hofbereich befinden sich Bänke und Tische für die Gäste des Theaterrestaurants, das ebenfalls von dort aus zugänglich ist.
Da in den Sommermonaten die Bäume auf dem kleinen Platz die Einsehbarkeit der Theaterzugänge beeinträchtigen, gibt es an der Schnittstelle zwischen Torbogen und Neubau eine Stele, die auch als Zeichen im Stadtraum auf die hinter den bescheidenen Altbauten liegende Theaternutzung hinweist. Die Werkstätten liegen an der Tumblingerstraße und bieten Passanten Einblicke hinter die Kulissen des Theaterbetriebs.
Die Plastizität des Baukörpers und seine Höhenstaffelung ergibt sich aus den funktionellen Bedingungen. Die gebäudetechnischen Anlagen, die rückspringend die nächst höhere Schicht bilden, sind entlang der thermischen Hülle mit einer gefalteten Gitterkonstruktion aus feinen Metallstäben umhüllt. Der Bühnenturm erhielt eine semi-transparente Membranfassade.
Das Foyer wie auch der Windfang und die gastronomische Einrichtung erhalten großzügige Glasfassaden, die im Sommer zum Hof hin ganz geöffnet werden können. Aus der Form des Grundstücks ergibt sich der längliche Zuschnitt des Foyers, das mit seiner markanten Farbgebung ins Auge sticht. Der Bereich für Anlieferung, Werkstätten und Lagerräume sowie die Bühnenbereiche beanspruchen den südlichen Teil des Baufensters, dazwischen liegen der Zuschauerraum für 600 und die zweite Spielstätte für 200 Personen. Die Verwaltungsspange bildet die Ostseite des Gebäudes und ist mit den Altbauten verbunden.
Mitte Oktober wird Intendant Christian Stückl das Haus mit einer ersten Aufführung eröffnen.

Bauherr:
Landeshauptstadt München, Kommunalreferat vertreten durch das Baureferat

Generalübernehmer:
Georg Reisch GmbH & Co. KG, Bad Saulgau

Architekten:
LRO Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Mitarbeiter:
Katja Pütter, Alexander Hochstraßer, Lina Müller, Philipp Kraus, Levin Koch, Johannes Brambring, Jean-Philippe Maul

Verfahren für Generalübernehmerleistung:
12/2016 - 1. Preis

Bauzeit:
2018-2021

BGF:
30.134 qm

Nutzfläche:
24.432 qm

Standort:
Tumblingerstraße 27, 80337 München

Fotos:
Roland Halbe

Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater
Münchner Volkstheater