Deutsch

Residential, Office and Commercial Building in Karlsruhe

Wedged between neighbours with different proportions, designs and heights, the new building is intended to assume an intermediary position. A new building was needed because the existing one was in disrepair and could not be preserved. But the former façade was pretty, if not to say odd: in the 1920s the architects Curjel and Moser had taken on the task of cladding two buildings with a continuous facade. Their design had a polished black natural stone base and a curved gable. There, Götz Werner had founded his business with the first dm-drogerie markt retail shop.
The new building was conceived to be a mediator between the differing scales of the two neighbouring buildings and to also recall the peculiarity of the old building and its history. The tiered heights result from superposing the horizontal lines of the adjacent buildings to the right and left. The arched shape of the larger neighbour’s arcade is continued in modified form, clearly not directly copied. The vertical surfaces are folded to achieve an elevation that contains space and thus to yield a situation with three-dimensional relief along the side of the street.
The entire public façade is made of highly precise precast concrete components, which are pigmented in a pale sand-coloured tone for a smooth transition to the former bank building made of sandstone. The profiled arches are cast as individual, two-story reinforced concrete elements. The contractor understood that these parts and the precast elements for the upper floors needed to be set in place with extreme precision. The resulting façade seems to have nearly no joints.
To match the needs of a good urban design the upper floors are equipped with a classical punch window façade. As continuous ribbon windows are actually a better source of daylight. We additionally designed intermediate windows with glass that has been coloured to match the concrete surface. One does not realise these windows are translucent until the evening hours arrive and the lights from inside shine through the panes.

From an architectural viewpoint, it stands to reason that the concrete façade was the most challenging part of the design. Concrete is nevertheless carried forth as a theme in the entrance hall and the stair enclosures, where the flights of steps are also built as precast elements made of white concrete. Furthermore, the shop owners and the office tenants on the upper floors have chosen in places to leave the concrete visible.

Client:
Werner Herrenstraße GmbH & Co.KG
Prof. Götz Werner, Karlsruhe

Architects:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Structural Engineering:
Ingenieurgruppe Bauen, Karlsruhe

Building Engineering:
Planungsgesellschaft Schaaf, Karlsruhe

Strucutral physics:
Ingenieurgruppe Bauen, Karlsruhe

Geology:
GHJ Ingenieurgesellschaft, Karlsruhe

Surveying:
Ingenieurteam Trenkle, Karlsruhe

Fire protection planning:
lw konzept, Stuttgart

Safety and health coordinator:
Busse & Partner GmbH, Karlsruhe

Site area:
1,225 square meters

Gross floor area:
5.000 square meters

Gross volume:
19,500 cubic meters

Construction period:
2011 – 2013

Location:
Herrenstraße 26-28, 76133 Karlsruhe, Germany

Publications

Christian Schittich (Hg.)
Best of DETAIL: Concrete
Edition Detail
Institut für Internationale Architektur-Dokumentation GmbH & Co. KG
München 2016

Edition DBZ:
Beton Bauteile. Entwerfen Planen Ausführen 2016.
Bauverlag BV GmbH, Gütersloh, 2015.
ISBN 978-3-7625-3672-7

DETAIL
Zeitschrift für Architektur + Baudetail
4 | 2015

CUBE
1 | 2015

Chris van Uffelen (Hg.):
Concrete. Pur. Strong. Surprising.
Braun Publishing AG, 2015

MARK Another Architecture
10 | 2014

Bund Deutscher Architekten BDA
Landesverband Baden-Württemberg (Hg.):
Architektur in Baden-Württemberg.
Hugo-Häring-Auszeichung 2014
BDA Karlsruhe
2014

Photos

Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei

English

Wohn-, Büro- und Geschäftshaus Karlsruhe

Eingeklemmt zwischen zwei Gebäuden unterschiedlicher Proportion, Gestaltung und Höhe sollte das neue Gebäude eine Mittlerposition einnehmen. Der Neubau war notwendig geworden, weil der Bestand marode und nicht zu erhalten war. Allerdings war die Fassade hübsch, um nicht zu sagen ulkig: Die Architekten Curjel und Moser hatten in den Zwanziger Jahren die Aufgabe übernommen, zwei Gebäude mit einer durchgehenden Fassade zu verkleiden. Diese war im Sockelbereich aus poliertem schwarzem Naturstein und einem geschwungenen Giebel gestaltet. In diesem Gebäude hatte Götz Werner mit dem ersten dm-Drogeriemarkt sein Unternehmen begonnen.

Mit dem Neubau soll also nicht nur eine Überleitung zwischen den beiden Maßstäben der Nachbargebäude erreicht werden, sondern auch an die Merkwürdigkeit des alten Hauses und die damit verbundene Geschichte erinnert werden. Die Höhenstaffelung beruht auf der Überlagerung der horizontalen Linien des rechts und links anschließenden Gebäudes. Dabei wird die Bogenform des großen Hauses in veränderter Form fortgeführt, freilich nicht in der direkten Form. Die Senkrechte erhielt eine Faltung, um ein raumhaltige Ansicht und damit eine Reliefsituation der Straßenseite zu erreichen.

Die gesamte Fassade zum Öffentlichen Raum besteht aus sehr exakt gefertigten Betonfertigteilen. Diese sind in einem hellen Sandton eingefärbt, denn wir wünschten uns einen Übergang zum ehemaligen, aus Sandstein errichteten Bankgebäude. Die profilierten Bögen sind in einzelne, zweigeschossige Stahlbetonelemente geteilt. Die ausführende Firma hat es verstanden, diese Teile zusammen mit den Fertigteilen der Obergeschosse sehr exakt zu versetzen. Damit erscheint die Fassade nahezu fugenlos.

Die Fassade der Obergeschosse ist aus Gründen der Stadtgestaltung mit Lochfenstern versehen. Da für die Belichtung der Obergeschosse eigentlich durchgehende Fensterbänder besser sind, sind zusätzlich Zwischenfenster in einem Glas ausgeführt, das die Färbung der Betonoberfläche erhalten hat. Dass diese Fenster lichtdurchlässig sind, sieht man erst in den Abendstunden, wenn die innere Beleuchtung diese Scheiben hinterleuchtet.

Natürlich ist, architektonisch gesehen, die Betonfassade der anspruchvollste Part der Planung gewesen. Das Thema des Betons setzt sich aber in der Eingangshalle und den Treppenhäusern fort. Dort sind auch die Treppenläufe als Fertigteile in Weißbeton ausgeführt. Die Ladenbetreiber wie die Mieter der Büros in den oberen Etagen haben den Beton ebenfalls stellenweise sichtbar behalten.

Bauherr:
Werner Herrenstraße GmbH & Co.KG
Prof. Götz Werner, Karlsruhe

Architekten:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Tragwerksplanung:
Ingenieurgruppe Bauen, Karlsruhe

Haustechnik:
Planungsgesellschaft Schaaf, Karlsruhe

Bauphysik:
Ingenieurgruppe Bauen, Karlsruhe

Geologie:
GHJ Ingenieurgesellschaft, Karlsruhe

Vermessung:
Ingenieurteam Trenkle, Karlsruhe

Brandschutz:
lw konzept, Stuttgart

SiGeKo:
Busse & Partner GmbH, Karlsruhe

Grundstücksgrösse:
1.225 qm

BGF:
5.000 qm

BRI:
19.500 cbm

Bauzeit:
2011 – 2013

Standort:
Herrenstraße 26-28, 76133 Karlsruhe

Veröffentlichungen

Christian Schittich (Hg.)
Best of DETAIL: Beton
Edition Detail
Institut für Internationale Architektur-Dokumentation GmbH & Co. KG
München 2016

Edition DBZ:
Beton Bauteile. Entwerfen Planen Ausführen 2016.
Bauverlag BV GmbH, Gütersloh, 2015.
ISBN 978-3-7625-3672-7

DETAIL
Zeitschrift für Architektur + Baudetail
4 | 2015

CUBE
1 | 2015

Chris van Uffelen (Hg.):
Concrete. Pur. Strong. Surprising.
Braun Publishing AG, 2015

MARK Another Architecture
10 | 2014

Bund Deutscher Architekten BDA
Landesverband Baden-Württemberg (Hg.):
Architektur in Baden-Württemberg.
Hugo-Häring-Auszeichung 2014
BDA Karlsruhe
2014

Fotos

Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei