Deutsch

Meetings rooms Bausparkasse Schwäbisch Hall

Only a few years beforehand, the firm had invested a great deal in installing a representative meeting room in the top storey. Contrary to expectations, this had been used relatively seldom.

It was obvious to us that the exaggerated emphasis on prestige was the reason for the lack of acceptance: opulent materials, a ceiling which was too high and the use of reflective surfaces made the room pretentious and militated against its everyday, routine use.

The basic configuration of this level is a combination of circle and square. We divided up the relatively large area into a smaller meeting room and the actual conference room, the form of which derives from the rounded aspect of the tower’s ground plan. We lowered the ceiling and installed a light-coloured suspended ceiling cloud, which transforms the daylight falling in from above into a softer illumination. In the evenings this element is lit from behind, and in addition, it is possible to illuminate it from below.

The wall surfaces were clad with wooden slats made of light-coloured maple. The tables and chairs were chosen to suit the new surfaces. The building services were renovated.

The firm’s personnel responsible for making decisions on the project initially viewed it critically – apparently even an extensive visual presentation does not deliver sufficient information about the actual impression the space will later make. It is reassuring to know that spatial imagination cannot actually be replaced so easily.

Client:
Bausparkasse Schwäbisch Hall, Schwäbisch Hall

Architects:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Team:
Stephan Grosch, Ulrike Hautau

Realization:
2000 – 2001

Location:
Crailsheimer Strasse 52, 74523 Schwäbisch Hall, Germany

Publications

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei 1. Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Photos

Roland Halbe, Stuttgart, Germany

English

Konferenzräume Schwäbisch Hall

Im obersten Geschoss des Hochhauses hatte der Betrieb mit viel Aufwand erst wenige Jahre zuvor einen repräsentativen Sitzungsraum eingebaut. Entgegen den Erwartungen wurde dieser aber verhältnismäßig wenig in Anspruch genommen.

Für uns war offensichtlich, dass die übertriebene Repräsentativität der Grund für die geringe Akzeptanz war: Opulente Materialien, eine zu große Raumhöhe und der Einsatz von spiegelnden Oberflächen verliehen dem Raum einen Anspruch, der einer alltäglichen und selbstverständlichen Nutzung abträglich ist.

Die Grundform der Ebene besteht aus der Kombination von Kreis und Rechteck. Wir unterteilten den relativ großen Bereich in einen kleineren Besprechungsraum und den eigentlichen Sitzungssaal, dessen Form sich aus dem runden Teil des Turmgrundrisses ergab. Wir senkten die Raumhöhe und bauten ein helles Deckensegel ein, das das von oben hereinfallende Tageslicht in weiches Licht umwandelt. Am Abend wird dieses Segel von der Rückseite beleuchtet. Zusätzlich kann die Untersicht aufgehellt werden.

Die Wandoberflächen wurden mit Holzlatten aus hellem Ahorn verkleidet. Tische und Stühle wurden den neuen Oberflächen angemessen ausgewählt. Die technische Ausstattung wurde erneuert.

Die verantwortlichen Mitarbeitern des Unternehmens betrachteten das Projekt zunächst kritisch – offenbar liefert auch eine aufwendige Visualisierung noch nicht ausreichend Information über den tatsächlichen späteren Raumeindruck. Die räumliche Vorstellungskraft ist beruhigenderweise doch nicht so einfach zu ersetzen.

Bauherr:
Bausparkasse Schwäbisch Hall, Schwäbisch Hall

Architekten:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Mitarbeit:
Stephan Grosch, Ulrike Hautau

Tragwerksplanung:
Scholz & Partner (Turm)
Firma Forster (Umbau)

HLS Planung:
Ingenieurbüro Scholze (Turm)
Firma Kiefer (Umbau)

Elektroplanung:
Ingenieurbüro Scholze (Turm)

Bauphysik:
Bobran Ingenieure (Turm)
Kurz & Fischer (Umbau)

Realisierung:
2000 – 2001

Standort:
Crailsheimer Strasse 52, 74523 Schwäbisch Hall

Veröffentlichungen

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei 1. Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Fotos

Roland Halbe, Stuttgart