Deutsch

Tax authority and canteen in Reutlingen

An old factory where sieves for papermaking were produced was to be converted into a tax office. As one part of the old factory building had become unusable, it was decided to demolish it while keeping the historical façade. The complex stands in a district dating from around 1900.

The tax office consists of three parts: a new building with its main wing oriented towards the city square in front of it; the multi-storey old building, which accommodated the other half of the administrative premises; and a canteen, which makes use of the heritage-protected façade oriented towards the street.

The part of the building which is visible from a distance received a cladding of dark grey bricks, while the rear parts were only insulated and covered with white rendering due to financial constraints. On the other hand, the canteen’s new façades have been constructed of wood.

For the new structures, we aimed for the first time to work using building elements with high thermal inertia, by and large eschewing glass façades. The entrance hall is therefore quite closed-in. Relatively small window openings serve to bring in light over the plastered interior walls and parapets. People enter the hall through small and dark vestibules set to the side, which heighten the impression of light in the lofty space.

The positive experiences regarding durability, low maintenance and favourable performance in summertime temperatures gave us reason to use the same principles of construction again – in improved form – on subsequent buildings.

Client:
Land Baden-Württemberg / Wohnbau Schwarzwald AG

Architects:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei Architekten, Stuttgart

General contractor / Site supervision:
Dyckerhoff & Widmann AG, Stuttgart

Competition:
1987 – 1st prize

Construction period:
1989 – 1991

Location:
Leonhardsplatz 1, 72764 Reutlingen, Germany

Awards

Architekturpreis, WestHyp-Stiftung, 1992

Auszeichnung Beispielhaftes Bauen, 1992
Architektenkammer Baden-Württemberg

Auszeichnung guter Bauten, BDA, 1993
Bund Deutscher Architekten

Publications

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Falk Jaeger (Hg.):
Lederer+Ragnarsdóttir+Oei.
Berlin 2008

Archithese
2 | 2001

Wolfgang Bachmann (Hg.), Haila Ochs (Texte):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei.
München 1995

Deutsche Bauzeitung
7 | 1994

Beton Prisma
67 | 1994

Gerhard G. Feldmeyer:
Die Neue Deutsche Architektur.
Stuttgart 1993

Baumeister
5 | 1992

Architektur Innenarchitektur Technischer Ausbau
12 | 1992

Photos

Roland Halbe, Stuttgart, Germany

English

Finanzamt und Behördenkantine Reutlingen

Eine alte Fabrik, in der Papiersiebe hergestellt wurden, sollte zum Finanzamt umgebaut werden. Da ein Teil der alten Hallen unbrauchbar geworden war, entschied man sich für deren Abbruch unter Erhalt der historischen Fassade. Der Komplex befindet sich in einem um 1900 entstandenen Quartier.

Das Amt besteht aus drei Teilen: einem Neubau, dessen Hauptflügel sich zum davorliegenden städtischen Platz orientiert; dem mehrgeschossigen Altbau, in den die andere Hälfte der Verwaltungsräume eingebaut wurde; sowie einer Kantine, die sich der zur Straße orientierten, denkmalgeschützten Fassade bedient.

Der weithin sichtbare Teil des Neubaus erhielt eine Verkleidung aus dunkelgrauen Ziegeln, während die zurückliegenden Teile aus Geldmangel lediglich wärmegedämmt und mit weißem Putz versehen wurden. Die neuen Fassaden der Kantine wiederum sind als Holzkonstruktion ausgeführt.

Bei den Neubauten verfolgten wir zum ersten Mal das Ziel, mit trägen Bauteilen zu arbeiten, unter weitgehendem Verzicht auf verglaste Fassaden. Die Eingangshalle ist deshalb relativ geschlossen. Relativ kleine Fensteröffnungen dienen zur Lichtführung über die hell verputzen Innenwände und Brüstungen. Man betritt die Halle durch kleine, dunkle seitliche Windfänge, wodurch der Eindruck von Helligkeit in dem hohen Raum eine Steigerung erfährt.

Die positiven Erfahrungen hinsichtlich der Dauerhaftigkeit, des geringen Pflegeaufwands und des günstigen Verhaltens bei sommerlichen Temperaturen lieferten den Anlass, die konstruktiven Prinzipien – in verbesserter Form – bei darauffolgenden Gebäuden erneut anzuwenden.

Bauherr:
Land Baden-Württemberg / Wohnbau Schwarzwald AG

Architekten:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei Architekten, Stuttgart

Generalunternehmer/Bauleitung:
Dyckerhoff & Widmann AG, Stuttgart

Wettbewerb:
1987 – 1. Preis

Bauzeit:
1989 – 1991

Standort:
Leonhardsplatz 1, 72764 Reutlingen

Auszeichnungen

Architekturpreis, WestHyp-Stiftung, 1992

Auszeichnung Beispielhaftes Bauen, 1992
Architektenkammer Baden-Württemberg

Auszeichnung guter Bauten, BDA, 1993
Bund Deutscher Architekten

Veröffentlichungen

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Falk Jaeger (Hg.):
Lederer+Ragnarsdóttir+Oei.
Berlin 2008

Archithese
2 | 2001

Wolfgang Bachmann (Hg.), Haila Ochs (Texte):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei.
München 1995

Deutsche Bauzeitung
7 | 1994

Beton Prisma
67 | 1994

Gerhard G. Feldmeyer:
Die Neue Deutsche Architektur.
Stuttgart 1993

Baumeister
5 | 1992

Architektur Innenarchitektur Technischer Ausbau
12 | 1992

Fotos

Roland Halbe, Stuttgart