Deutsch

Storage and office building in Reutlingen

The firm EKZ, a company specialising in equipping libraries, needed a warehouse building as well as new administrative premises. The programme envisaged initially leasing out part of the office space to others.

The concept behind the building makes use of the reliable model of bifurcation: the office building forms the head of the facility and is directly connected to the two floors of the storage building. An underground car park lies under the complex. The movement of goods takes place on the side away from the street.

The administrative building has light grey rendering. From a design standpoint, the entrance hall forms a single entity with the adjoining warehouse: its façades are clad with red wood-based panels and vertical glulam battens covering the joints. The vertical emphasis of the façade design is amplified through rhythmically aligned projected bays along the long side of the building. These also serve as bracing.

With this entrance hall, we have continued the concept we initially selected for the tax office in Reutlingen, namely using a largely closed-in space with only few, deliberately situated apertures to admit light. Here, the staircase is installed more-or-less as a freestanding object in the space. The white painted walls and parapets reflect the daylight. Upon entering the introverted space one is all the more surprised, given how bright it is, as the interior cannot be seen from outside and because its seems very closed-in by dint of its convex façade.

During the construction phase the original budget had to be reduced by 10 percent, which meant considerable planning changes in the details.

Client:
EKZ Bibliotheksservice GmbH, Reutlingen

Architects:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei Architekten, Stuttgart

Gross Volume:
39,100 cubic meters

Effective Area:
4,525 square meters (depot)
1,153 qm (office building)

Competition:
1992

Construction period:
1992 – 1994

Location:
Storlachstraße 8, Reutlingen, Germany

Awards

Auszeichnung Guter Bauten, BDA

Hugo-Häring-Preis
Landespreis des BDA Baden-Württemberg

Publications

Deutsche Bauzeitung
7 | 1994

Architecture + Detail
4 | 1995

Wolfgang Bachmann (Hg.), Haila Ochs (Texte):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei.
München 1995

Jürgen Adam, Katharina Hausmann, Frank Jüttner (Hg.):
Entwurfsatlas Industriebau.
Basel 2004

Bauwelt
26 | 2004

Falk Jaeger (Hg.):
Lederer + Ragnarsdóttir + Oei.
Berlin 2008

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer   Ragnarsdóttir  Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Photos

Roland Halbe, Stuttgart

English

Lager- und Bürogebäude Reutlingen

Die Firma EKZ, ein Unternehmen für Bibliotheksausstattung, benötigte ein Lagergebäude sowie Flächen für die Verwaltung. Das Programm sah vor, einen Teil der Büroräume zunächst fremdzuvermieten.

Das dem Gebäude zugrunde liegende Konzept bedient sich dem bewährten Muster der Zweiteilung: Das Bürogebäude bildet den Kopf der Anlage und ist direkt an die zweigeschossige Halle angebunden. Unter dem Komplex befindet sich eine Tiefgarage. Aus- und Anlieferung erfolgen auf der straßenabgewandten Seite.

Der Verwaltungsbau ist hellgrau verputzt. Die Eingangshalle bildet mit dem anschließenden Lagergebäude gestalterisch eine Einheit: Dessen Fassaden sind mit einer Vorsatzschale aus roten Holzwerkstoffplatten und senkrechten, die Fugen verdeckenden Leimbindern verkleidet. Die vertikale Führung der Installation erfolgt über rhythmisch angeordnete Vorsprünge entlang der Hallenlängsseite. Diese dienen außerdem der Aussteifung.

Mit der Eingangshalle setzen wir das erstmals beim Finanzamt in Reutlingen gewählte Konzept des weitgehend geschlossenen Raums mit wenigen, gezielt eingesetzten Belichtungsöffnungen fort. Hier ist die Treppe als mehr oder weniger frei stehendes Objekt in den Raum gestellt. Die weiß gestrichenen Wände und Brüstungen reflektieren das Tageslicht. Da der Innenraum von außen nicht eingesehen werden kann und aufgrund der konvex geformten Außenhaut sehr geschlossen wirkt, ist man beim Betreten des introvertierten Raums angesichts der Helligkeit umso mehr überrascht.

Während der Ausführungsphase musste das ursprünglich angesetzte Budget um 10 Prozent gekürzt werden, was erhebliche Umplanungen im Detail mit sich brachte.

Bauherr:
EKZ Bibliotheksservice GmbH, Reutlingen

Architekten:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei Architekten, Stuttgart

BRI:
39.100 cbm

Nutzfläche:
4.525 qm (Lagerhalle)
1.153 qm (Bürogebäude)

Wettbewerb:
1992

Bauzeit:
1992 – 1994

Standort:
Storlachstraße 8, Reutlingen

Auszeichnungen

Auszeichnung Guter Bauten, BDA

Hugo-Häring-Preis
Landespreis des BDA Baden-Württemberg

Veröffentlichungen

Deutsche Bauzeitung
7 | 1994

Architecture + Detail
4 | 1995

Wolfgang Bachmann (Hg.), Haila Ochs (Texte):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei.
München 1995

Jürgen Adam, Katharina Hausmann, Frank Jüttner (Hg.):
Entwurfsatlas Industriebau.
Basel 2004

Bauwelt
26 | 2004

Falk Jaeger (Hg.):
Lederer + Ragnarsdóttir + Oei.
Berlin 2008

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer   Ragnarsdóttir  Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Fotos

Roland Halbe, Stuttgart