Deutsch

Feco-Forum Karlsruhe

The Feco Forum is designed to house exhibitions and to serve as a representative space. In addition it houses administrative offices, some of which are rented out. The clients definitely wanted high quality architecture which would serve as a model for boosting the modest level of design marking the urban surroundings, an industrial estate.

The simple cube is broken up by a display façade opening up onto the street. The staircase projects out of this configuration and emphasises the entrance. The façades are clad with corrugated black aluminium. In contrast, the display window’s façade components are made of untreated wood and the window frames of the administrative offices are a brilliant white.

The character of the two-storey interior is determined by the terraced arrangement of the working and exhibition spaces on the northern side. Via these stepped levels, access is gained to the hallways and offices of the upper floor, where presentations take place. The partitions installed there are fabricated from Feederle’s various product lines. The central hall space, which is also used for events, receives daylight through round skylights. All walls and parapets are painted white. The floor covering of the hall space and the entrance area consists of polished mastic asphalt.

The second upper storey is a purely administrative level which can be used by the owner over the long term. The northern wing of the building is one floor higher still, containing extra space which can be used as an apartment.

Client:
Feederle – Verwaltungsgesellschaft dbR, Karlsruhe

Architects:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Team:
Katrin Holzer, Matthias Hackmann

Structural Engineering:
IGB – Beratende Ingenieure, Karlsruhe

Construction period:
2005 – 2007

Effective Area:
3,500 square meters

Location:
Am Storrenacker 22, 76139 Karlsruhe, Germany

Awards

Auszeichnung guter Bauten, BDA 2008

best architects 09 Award 2008

Hugo-Häring-Preis, BDA 2009

Nominierung zum Architekturpreis Große Nike 2010

Auszeichnung Beispielhaftes Bauen 2012

Publications

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei 1
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Bund Deutscher Architekten BDA,
Landesverband Baden-Württemberg (Hg.):
Architektur in Baden-Württemberg 2009.
Auszeichnung Guter Bauten, Hugo-Häring-Preis
Stuttgart 2009

Trockenbau Akustik
3 | 2008

Falk Jaeger (Hg.):
Lederer+Ragnarsdóttir+Oei
Berlin 2008

Detail
10 | 2008

Best Architects Documentation.
Düsseldorf 2008

Bau- und Möbelschreiner
6 | 2008

Bau Beratung Architektur
11 | 2007

Architektur Innenarchitektur Technischer Ausbau
10 | 2007

Photos

Roland Halbe, Stuttgart

English

Feco-Forum in Karlsruhe

Das Feco-Forum dient Ausstellungs- und Repräsentationszwecken. Zudem sind dort Räume für die Verwaltung untergebracht, zum Teil fremdvermietet. Die Bauherren wünschten sich dezidiert eine anspruchsvolle Architektur, die das bescheidene Gestaltungsniveau des städtischen Umfelds – ein Gewerbegebiet – beispielhaft ergänzt.

Der einfache Kubus wird zu Straße hin durch eine sich öffnende Schaufassade aufgebrochen. Das Treppenhaus tritt aus dieser Figur heraus und betont den Eingang. Die Fassaden sind mit einer schwarzen Aluminiumwelle verkleidet. Im Kontrast dazu sind die Fassadenelemente des Schaufensters aus naturbelassenem Holz und die Fensterrahmen der Verwaltungsräume strahlend weiß.

Der Charakter des zweigeschossigen Innenraums wird durch die terrassierte Anordnung der Arbeits- und Ausstellungsflächen auf der Nordseite bestimmt. Über die getreppten Ebenen erreicht man die Flure und Büroräume der oberen Etage des Präsentationsgeschosses. Die dortigen Trennwände sind aus den unterschiedlichen Produktionslinien der Firma Feederle gefertigt. Die Halle in der Mitte, die auch als Veranstaltungsraum genutzt wird, erhält durch runde Oberlichter Tageslicht. Alle Wände und Brüstungen sind weiß gestrichen. Der Bodenbelag von Halle und Eingangsbereich besteht aus geschliffenem Gussasphalt.

Das zweite Obergeschoss ist eine reine Verwaltungsebene, die langfristig vom Eigentümer selbst genutzt werden kann. Der nördliche Gebäudeflügel ist nochmals um ein Geschoss höher. Dort befindet sich eine auch als Wohnung nutzbare Reservefläche.

Bauherr:
Feederle – Verwaltungsgesellschaft dbR, Karlsruhe

Architekten:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Mitarbeit:
Katrin Holzer, Matthias Hackmann

Tragwerksplanung:
IGB – Beratende Ingenieure, Karlsruhe

Bauzeit:
2005 – 2007

NF:
3.500 qm

Standort:
Am Storrenacker 22, 76139 Karlsruhe

Auszeichnungen

Auszeichnung guter Bauten, BDA 2008

best architects 09 Award 2008

Hugo-Häring-Preis, BDA 2009

Nominierung zum Architekturpreis Große Nike 2010

Auszeichnung Beispielhaftes Bauen 2012

Publikationen

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei 1
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Bund Deutscher Architekten BDA,
Landesverband Baden-Württemberg (Hg.):
Architektur in Baden-Württemberg 2009.
Auszeichnung Guter Bauten, Hugo-Häring-Preis
Stuttgart 2009

Trockenbau Akustik
3 | 2008

Falk Jaeger (Hg.):
Lederer+Ragnarsdóttir+Oei
Berlin 2008

Detail
10 | 2008

Best Architects Documentation.
Düsseldorf 2008

Bau- und Möbelschreiner
6 | 2008

Bau Beratung Architektur
11 | 2007

Architektur Innenarchitektur Technischer Ausbau
10 | 2007

Fotos

Roland Halbe, Stuttgart