Deutsch

House B. in Karlsruhe

The house was designed for a married couple who are both architects and have four children and their own office. The urban plan specified – as in comparable situations – a layout typical for this district, with the building standing in the middle of the site. After protracted negotiations we managed to achieve an alternative solution: the structure now runs along the road on the western side. The positioning on the site is consistent with the rigorously closed-off western façade, while the elongated building opens up to the garden along its whole length.

You enter the house on the middle level, which contains the living area proper, with an open kitchen and dining area. This area is connected to a raised terrace by a bridge. A single staircase along the western side leads to the garden level, which is connected with the entrance level via a void at the building’s southern end.

To make extensive space available for the family to share, the individual bedrooms are lined up one behind the other like compartments in a railway train. All the furniture, including the cupboards, dining table and sofa, are built in.

The attic level, which is divided off from the lower floors by ribbon windows, houses the office, which is accessible by a separate, external flight of steps.
The walls and the ceilings have been left as exposed concrete formed with rough-cut lumber. The exterior cladding consists of black clinker bricks, and the roof is covered in titanium zinc.

Client:
Private

Architects:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei Architekten, Stuttgart

Construction period:
1993 – 1994

Location:
Karlsruhe-Grünwettersbach, Germany

Awards

Auszeichnung Guter Bauten, BDA, 1996
Bund Deutscher Architekten

Publications

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Falk Jaeger (Hg.):
Lederer+Ragnarsdóttir+Oei.
Berlin 2008

Häuser
5 | 2000

Baumeister
8 | 1995

Wolfgang Bachmann (Hg.), Haila Ochs (Texte):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei.
München 1995

English

Haus B. Karlsruhe

Das Haus wurde für ein Architektenehepaar mit vier Kindern und eigenem Büro entworfen. Die städtische Planung sah – wie in vergleichbaren Situationen – das für das Gebiet typische Muster einer mittigen Platzierung des Gebäudes auf dem Grundstück vor. Nach langer Verhandlung konnte eine alternative Lösung durchgesetzt werden: Der Baukörper erstreckt sich nun entlang der auf der Westseite befindlichen Straße. Der Setzung auf dem Grundstück entspricht die konsequent geschlossene Westfassade, während sich der längliche Baukörper zum Garten hin auf der gesamten Breite öffnet.

Man betritt das Haus auf der mittleren Ebene, auf der sich der eigentliche Wohnbereich mit offener Küche und Essplatz befindet. Über eine Brücke ist dieser Bereich mit einer erhöht angelegten Terrasse verbunden. Eine einläufige Treppe entlang der Westseite führt zum Gartengeschoss, das am südlichen Ende des Baukörpers über einen Luftraum mit der Eingangsebene verbunden ist.

Zugunsten eines großen, von der Familie gemeinsam nutzbaren Flächenangebots sind die einzelnen Schlafräume Eisenbahnabteilen gleich hintereinander angeordnet. Alle Möbel, Schränke, Esstisch, Sofa, sind fest eingebaut.

Im Dach, das durch ein umlaufendes Fensterband von den unteren Geschossen abgesetzt ist, befindet sich das separat von außen über eine Treppe erschlossene Büro.

Die Wände und Decken sind im gesamten Gebäude in sägerauem Sichtbeton belassen. Die Außenhaut besteht aus schwarzen Klinkern, das Dach ist mit Titanzink gedeckt.

Bauherr:
Privat

Architekten:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei Architekten, Stuttgart

Bauzeit:
1993 – 1994

Standort:
Karlsruhe-Grünwettersbach

Auszeichnungen

Auszeichnung Guter Bauten, BDA, 1996
Bund Deutscher Architekten

Veröffentlichungen

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Falk Jaeger (Hg.):
Lederer+Ragnarsdóttir+Oei.
Berlin 2008

Häuser
5 | 2000

Baumeister
8 | 1995

Wolfgang Bachmann (Hg.), Haila Ochs (Texte):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei.
München 1995