Deutsch

House B. in Aichwald

On the edge of a village in the vicinity of Stuttgart we have designed a private house appropriate to the requirements of a couple with two children to replace a dilapidated farmhouse. The design is based on our desire to communicate something of the rural situation of the existing building with our new structure.

Firstly, the dimension of the new structure formally corresponds broadly to the old building: rectangular with a gable roof covered with plain tiles. It is essentially a wooden frame construction with bracing walls made from lightweight bricks. The roof exhibits a pronounced overhang intended to provide structural protection for the wood. In the summer, the protruding balcony serves to shade the terrace below it.

The ceilings are also constructed of wood. The underside is left visible and is untreated like the other load-bearing wooden components. Plywood boards fill the areas between the wooden supports both externally and internally.

The ground plan is very simple: the central axis serves as circulation and offers space for a large hallway in the ground floor. A freestanding stove is situated between the living room and the hallway. The side towards the living room is faced with blue tiles, alluding to old tiled stoves.

An extension of the eastern aspect was added a few years after completion of the new building in order to enlarge the living room.

Client:
Private

Architects:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei Architekten, Stuttgart
1981 with Burkhart Sambeth

Construction period:
1981 / Anbau 1989

Location:
Aichwald-Aichschieß, Germany

Awards

AIV-Nachwuchspreis für Arno Lederer und Uli Ströbel
Architekten- und Ingenieurverein Stuttgart

Publications

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer   Ragnarsdóttir  Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Falk Jaeger (Hg.):
Lederer + Ragnarsdóttir + Oei
Berlin 2008

Wolfgang Bachmann (Hg.), Haila Ochs (Texte):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei.
München 1995

Baumeister
6 | 1985

Das Haus Spezial
1984

Stuttgarter Zeitung
03.06.1982

English

Haus B. Aichwald

Am Rand eines Dorfs in der Nähe von Stuttgart haben wir an Stelle eines abgängigen Bauernhauses ein Eigenheim entworfen, das den Anforderungen eines Ehepaars mit zwei Kindern gerecht wird. Grundlage des Entwurfs war der Wunsch, mit dem Neubau etwas von der ländlichen Situation des Bestands mitzuteilen.

Zunächst entspricht das neue Volumen formal in etwa dem alten Gebäude: ein rechteckiger Baukörper mit einem Satteldach, das mit Biberschwanzziegeln gedeckt ist. Im Wesentlichen handelt es sich um eine Holzständerkonstruktion mit aussteifenden Wänden aus Leichtziegel. Um einen konstruktiven Holzschutz zu erreichen, weist das Dach einen großen Vorsprung auf. Der vorgestellte Balkon dient im Sommer als Schattenspender für die darunterliegende Terrasse.

Die Decken sind ebenfalls als Holzkonstruktion ausgebildet. Die Unterseite ist sichtbar belassen und wie die anderen tragenden Hölzer unbehandelt. Innen wie außen füllen Sperrholzplatten die Bereiche zwischen den Holzstützen aus.

Der Grundriss ist sehr einfach: Die Mittelachse dient der Erschließung und bietet im Erdgeschoss Platz für eine große Diele. Zwischen Wohnraum und Diele befindet sich ein frei stehender Ofen. Zum Wohnraum hin ist dieser in Anlehnung an alte Kachelöfen mit einer blau gefliesten Ummauerung gefasst.

Um den Wohnraum zu vergrößern, erfolgte einige Jahre nach Fertigstellung des Neubaus ein Anbau auf der Ostseite.

Bauherr:
Privat

Architekten:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei Architekten, Stuttgart
1981 mit Burkhart Sambeth

Bauzeit:
1981 / Anbau 1989

Standort:
Aichwald-Aichschieß

Auszeichnungen

AIV-Nachwuchspreis für Arno Lederer und Uli Ströbel
Architekten- und Ingenieurverein Stuttgart

Veröffentlichungen

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer   Ragnarsdóttir  Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Falk Jaeger (Hg.):
Lederer + Ragnarsdóttir + Oei
Berlin 2008

Wolfgang Bachmann (Hg.), Haila Ochs (Texte):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei.
München 1995

Baumeister
6 | 1985

Das Haus Spezial
1984

Stuttgarter Zeitung
03.06.1982