Deutsch

Guest House Haupt- und Landgestüt Marbach

Marbach is the oldest stud farm owned by the state of Baden-Württemberg. It stands in a charming location in the Swabian Alb. The stud farm has a riding and driving school, as well as the horse breeding farm for which it is famous. Accommodation for the students of this school was now being envisaged.

The site intended for this purpose lies on the periphery of the stud farm, behind a group of small houses, the quality of which can be described as not exactly high-level. To the north, the site adjoins an area characterised by a rhythmically-arrayed ascending succession of narrow stables and hay barns. Some of these are very beautifully designed. Accordingly, the equally narrow structure of the student lodging orients itself towards them and thus forms a boundary to the smaller residential buildings.

A storehouse, whose black wooden structure contrasts with the green shutters on its windows, was the inspiration for the choice of material and colour for the new building. Continuing this motif, we likewise chose black stained weatherboarding and covered the floors of the rooms’ balconies with green artificial grass.

The project belongs to the category of building with the lowest possible budget. That is why the interiors were reduced to what was absolutely necessary: the interior walls are unplastered brick, and showers and washbasins are fitted into each guest room instead of being accommodated in dedicated spaces. We also used poured asphalt for the floors in the living areas, and the window areas have been minimized.

Client:
Land Baden-Württemberg
vertreten durch Vermögen und Bau Baden-Württemberg
Amt Tübingen

Architects:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Competition:
2009

Construction period:
2010 – 2011

Effective Area:
approximately 670 square meters

Gross volume:
Approximately 3,300 cubic meters

Location:
Gestütshof, Haupt- und Landgestüt Marbach
72532 Gomadingen-Marbach, Landkreis Reutlingen, Germany

Awards

Hugo-Häring-Auszeichnung 2014
BDA Neckar Alb

Publications

Bund Deutscher Architekten BDA, Landesverband Baden-Württemberg (Hg.):
Architektur in Baden-Württemberg 2015.
Hugo-Häring-Auszeichnung. Hugo-Häring Landespreis
Karl-Krämer-Verlag Stuttgart, 2015
ISBN 978-3-7828-4056-9

Bauwelt
27-28 | 2012

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Photos

Achim Birnbaum
Arno Lederer

English

Gästehaus Haupt- und Landgestüt Marbach

Marbach ist das älteste staatliche Gestüt im Besitz des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es befindet sich in reizvoller Lage auf der Schwäbischen Alb. Neben der berühmten Pferdezucht verfügt das Gestüt über eine Reit- und Fahrschule. Für die Unterbringung der Schüler und Schülerinnen, die an diesen Kursen teilnehmen, sollte eine Herberge geschaffen werden.

Das dafür vorgesehene Grundstück liegt am Rande des Gestüts hinter einer Gruppe kleinerer Wohngebäude, deren Qualität als nicht gerade anspruchsvoll bezeichnet werden kann. Im Norden schließt das Grundstück an eine Gelände an, das sich nach oben ansteigend durch eine rhythmische Anordnung schmaler Stallbauten und Heuschober auszeichnet. Diese sind zum Teil sehr schön gestaltet. Entsprechend orientiert sich der ebenfalls schmale Baukörper der Herberge an ihnen und bildet damit die Grenze zu den kleineren Wohnbauten.

Für die Material- und Farbwahl des Neubaus stand ein Lagerhaus Pate, dessen schwarze Holzkonstruktion mit grünen Fensterläden kontrastiert. Wir wählten in Fortsetzung dieses Themas eine ebenfalls schwarz lasierte Stulpschalung und verkleideten die Zimmerbalkone mit grünem Kunstrasen.

Das Projekt gehört in die Sparte des Bauens mit niedrigstem Budget. Deshalb sind die Innenräume auf das Notwendigste reduziert: Die Innenwände aus Ziegelmauerwerk sind unverputzt, Dusche und Waschbecken sind in den jeweiligen Gästezimmern und nicht etwa in einem jeweils eigenen Raum untergebracht. Für die Böden verwendeten wir auch in den Wohnbereichen Gussasphalt, die Fensterflächen sind minimiert.

Bauherr:
Land Baden-Württemberg, vertreten durch Vermögen und Bau Baden-Württemberg, Amt Tübingen

Architekten:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Wettbewerb:
2009

Bauzeit:
2010 – 2011

NF:
ca. 670 qm

BRI:
ca. 3.300 qm

Standort:
Gestütshof, Haupt- und Landgestüt Marbach
72532 Gomadingen-Marbach, Landkreis Reutlingen

Auszeichnungen

Hugo-Häring-Auszeichnung 2014
BDA Neckar Alb

Veröffentlichungen

Bund Deutscher Architekten BDA, Landesverband Baden-Württemberg (Hg.):
Architektur in Baden-Württemberg 2015.
Hugo-Häring-Auszeichnung. Hugo-Häring Landespreis
Karl-Krämer-Verlag Stuttgart, 2015
ISBN 978-3-7828-4056-9

Bauwelt
27-28 | 2012

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Fotos

Achim Birnbaum
Arno Lederer