Deutsch

Steiner School in Biberach

The planning for the Rudolf Steiner school in Biberach represents a special case amid the work we do. The institution had already erected a small ‘starter house’ for itself. Now it wanted to stage a competition to find out how the school could be extended on the given site while proceeding step by step over a lengthy period. As it could not shoulder the financing entirely with its own resources, it asked our office to explore possibilities for how it could carry out parts of the construction through its own efforts.
The project’s success is above all thanks to the commitment made by two fathers of pupils, who worked tirelessly on the minutiae necessary to motivate the authorities, other parents, friends and, not least, the architects to press on with the building project when times got hard. The notion of ‘doing architecture’ takes on quite another meaning in this context.
The previously completed second building phase extended the ‘starter house’, with its four classrooms, by another eight rooms. Two of these will initially be used as rooms for dining and working on crafts. The V-shape of the extension allowed a slightly sunken area to be established in the widening of the floor plan. This central area serves various objectives of the school community. By dint of the difference in levels, the narrow side of this area can do duty as a stage for the monthly celebrations customary at Waldorf schools.
The building’s gently sloping gabled roof was extended by the new structure. The exterior walls are clad with simple weatherboards. The white wooden window frames have the same dimensions throughout.

Client:
Freie Waldorfschule Biberach e.V.

Architects:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Team:
Sebastian Bildstein, Eva Caspar, Helmuth Kistler, Mehmet Urkay

Project Management:
Irmgard Maier, Laupheim

Structural Engineering:
Keßler + Hurrle, Biberach

Competition:
2008 – 1. Preis

Construction period:
2010 – 2012

Gross floor area:
4.596 square meters

Location:
Rindenmooser Strasse 14, D – 88400 Biberach

Publications

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer   Ragnarsdóttir  Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

English

Waldorfschule Biberach an der Riß

Die Planung für die Waldorfschule in Biberach stellt einen Sonderfall innerhalb unserer Arbeiten dar. Die Einrichtung hatte sich bereits ein kleines »Starterhaus« errichtet. Nun wollte man in einem konkurrierenden Verfahren herausfinden, wie sich die Schule über einen längeren Zeitraum hinweg sukzessive auf dem vorgegebenen Grundstück erweitern ließe. Da die Finanzierung aus eigenen Mitteln nicht vollständig geschultert werden konnte, wurde unser Büro gebeten, die Möglichkeit zu untersuchen, wie Teile der Konstruktion durch Eigenarbeit ausgeführt werden könnten.
Das Gelingen des Projekts ist vor allem dem Engagement zweier Väter zu verdanken, die unermüdlich Behörden, andere Eltern und Freunde sowie nicht zuletzt die Architekten motivierten, die Bauaufgabe auch über Durststrecken hinweg zu bearbeiten . In diesem Zusammenhang erhält das Wort »Baukunst« eine ganz andere Bedeutung.
Mit dem bislang errichteten zweiten Bauabschnitt wurde das »Starterhaus« mit vier Klassenzimmern um weitere acht Räume erweitert. Zwei dieser Räume werden zunächst als Speise- beziehungsweise Werkraum genutzt. Durch die V-Form der Erweiterung konnte im breiter werdenden Grundriss eine leicht abgesenkte Fläche erreicht werden. Dieser zentrale Bereich dient der Schulgemeinschaft für unterschiedliche Zwecke. Durch den Niveauunterschied bietet sich die Schmalseite dieser Fläche als Bühne für die an Waldorfschulen übliche Monatsfeier an.
Das leicht geneigte Satteldach des Bestands fand in im neuen Baukörper seine Fortsetzung. Die Außenwände sind mit einer einfachen Stulpschalung verkleidet. Die weißen Holzfenster weisen durchgehend dasselbe Maß auf.

Bauherr:
Freie Waldorfschule Biberach e.V.

Architekten:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Mitarbeit:
Sebastian Bildstein, Eva Caspar, Helmuth Kistler, Mehmet Urkay

Projektsteuerung:
Irmgard Maier, Laupheim

Tragwerksplanung:
Keßler + Hurrle, Biberach

Wettbewerb:
2008 – 1. Preis

Bauzeit:
2010 – 2012

BGF:
4.596 qm

Standort:
Rindenmooser Strasse 14, 88400 Biberach

Veröffentlichungen

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer   Ragnarsdóttir  Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012