Deutsch

Schreienesch School-Complex Friedrichshafen

The secondary school came in for thoroughgoing renovation because of its considerable contamination with asbestos and PAH compounds. Although public authorities do not regard bad architecture as a building flaw requiring urgent remediation, the unsightliness of the school, constructed with prefabricated slabs of exposed aggregate concrete, was a significant motivation for its transformation. At the same time, a dining area, rooms for the administration and a teachers’ common room were to be added to the building.

As the first step, the entire building had to be stripped back almost totally. As the pollutants had also penetrated the concrete structure, the exposed building supports had to air for a while, before they could be enclosed by the new facing. For this new cladding, we chose wood boarding and painted it a light-coloured turquoise. The roof projects out far over the new façade as protection for the wood and, along with the external supports, forms a spatial filter for the spaces behind. A textile sunscreen is anchored along the thin steel columns.

The strictly gridded layout of the old support structure permitted thorough reconfiguration of the ground plans. The extension made it possible to arrange the rooms around an inner courtyard and to provide light to the hallways in this way.

As the neighbouring primary school is directly adjacent to the secondary one, the new teachers’ common room could be used by both schools. This spans the gap between the two buildings at the upper floor level and covers the schoolyard, which is also shared.

Client:
Stadt Friedrichshafen

Architects:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart /
Staub-Architekten, Friedrichshafen

Team:
Henrike Steines, Katja Pütter /
Sybil Jansen, Apollonia Thurner

Structural Engineering:
Breinlinger + Partner VBI Ingenieurgesellschaft mbH, Tuttlingen

Competition:
2005 (with Staub-Architekten, Friedrichshafen)

Construction period:
2006 – 2007

Gross floor area:
4,760 qm (conversion and extension)

Location:
Vogelsangstraße 23, 88046 Friedrichshafen, Germany

Publications

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Vereinigte Spezialmöbelfabriken (Hg.):
Das Klassenzimmer. Vom Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts bis heute
Tübingen 2010

Falk Jaeger (Hg.): Lederer+Ragnarsdóttir+Oei
Berlin 2008

Bauwelt
47 | 2007

Photos

Roland Halbe, Stuttgart

English

Schreienesch-Schule in Friedrichshafen

Aufgrund der erheblichen Belastung mit Asbest und PAK wurde die Hauptschule einer Grundsanierung unterzogen. Obwohl schlechte Architektur von der öffentlichen Hand nicht als dringend einzustufender Baumangel betrachtet wird, war die Unansehnlichkeit der aus einer Waschbetonfertigteilkonstruktion erstellten Schule ein wesentlicher Beweggrund für die Umgestaltung. Gleichzeitig sollte das Gebäude um einen Essbereich, Räume für die Verwaltung und ein Lehrerzimmer erweitert werden.

Im ersten Schritt musste das gesamte Haus nahezu komplett rückgebaut werden. Da die Schadstoffe auch in die Betonkonstruktion eingedrungen waren, musste das nackte Tragwerk einige Zeit auslüften, bevor es mit der neuen Außenhaut geschlossen werden konnte. Als neue Verkleidung wurde eine helltürkis gestrichene Holzschalung gewählt. Wegen des konstruktiven Holzschutzes ragt das Dach weit über die neue Fassade heraus und bildet mit den äußeren Stützen einen räumlichen Filter zum dahinterliegenden Volumen. Entlang den dünnen Stahlstützen wird der textile Sonnenschutz geführt.

Die strikte Rasterung der alten Tragkonstruktion ermöglichte eine grundsätzliche Umstrukturierung der Grundrisse. Durch die Erweiterung entstand die Möglichkeit, die Räume um einen Innenhof anzuordnen und die Flure so mit Tageslicht zu versorgen.

Da die benachbarte Grundschule in geringem Abstand zur Hauptschule liegt, konnte ein von beiden Häusern gemeinsam nutzbares Lehrerzimmer erstellt werden. Dieses überspannt auf der Höhe des ersten Stocks den Abstand zwischen beiden Gebäuden und überdacht den ebenfalls gemeinsam genutzten Schulhof.

Bauherr:
Stadt Friedrichshafen

Architekten:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart /
Staub-Architekten, Friedrichshafen

Mitarbeit:
Henrike Steines, Katja Pütter /
Sybil Jansen, Apollonia Thurner

Tragwerksplanung:
Breinlinger + Partner VBI Ingenieurgesellschaft mbH, Tuttlingen

Wettbewerb:
2005 (mit Staub-Architekten, Friedrichshafen)

Bauzeit:
2006 – 2007

BGF:
4.760 qm (Umbau + Erweiterung)

Standort:
Vogelsangstraße 23, 88046 Friedrichshafen

Publikationen

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Vereinigte Spezialmöbelfabriken (Hg.):
Das Klassenzimmer. Vom Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts bis heute
Tübingen 2010

Falk Jaeger (Hg.): Lederer+Ragnarsdóttir+Oei
Berlin 2008

Bauwelt
47 | 2007

Fotos

Roland Halbe, Stuttgart