Deutsch

Extension of the Steiner School in Freiburg St. Georgen

The commission was almost identical with the one in Villingen-Schwenningen. In this case too, a hall for events, an after school care centre and several classrooms were to be added to the school. To that extent, the project amounted to a direct evolution of the previous school.

In this case too, the form of the roof construction figured as a design principle. The spans are bigger, which benefits the dynamic look of the roof from below. Windows with panes of coloured glass panes mounted in front of them give the exterior of the auditorium building its character. As the building occupies a street corner, the hall is the main urban planning element, signalling the school’s address for arrivals.

By dint of the whole building’s dynamic contours – and because of the cost – the façade was given a coat of white render, which took on a fine layered effect through variations in grain.

The required egress staircase, which serves as an emergency exit from the gallery of the events hall, accentuates the entrance area and supports the projecting roof above it. Large copper-clad doors lead into the foyer, whose floor covering of irregularly cut Solnhofen paving extends into the interior from outside. Even the white render extends into the foyer. In the events hall, which is directly accessible from the foyer, the walls are exposed structural concrete. The roof’s wooden construction is painted grey-blue.

On the north side of the foyer, the hallway and main staircase lead to the classrooms distributed on all three floor levels. At the juncture between the classrooms and the events hall are two rooms especially designed for eurythmy exercises, which receive daylight via round skylights.

Client:
Waldorfschulverein Breisgau e.V., Freiburg i. Br.

Architects:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Team:
Volker Katthagen, Katja Pütter, Veit Katavias, Sascha Korbély, Lukas Volz, Kristina Rosental

Project Management:
ImmoConsult Freiburg GmbH, Freiburg i.Br.

Structural Engineering:
Büro für Baurealisierung, Weil am Rhein

Inspecting structural engineer:
Ingenieurbüro Egner, Kirchzarten

Construction period:
2007 – 2008

Gross floor area:
2,688 square meters

Gross volume:
12,196 cubic meters

Location:
Bergiselstraße 11, 79111 Freiburg i. Br. , Germany

Awards

Nomination for ECOLA-Award 2010

Publications

Markus Loeffelhardt:
Freiburg Neue Architektur.
Edition Quadrat. Berlin 2013

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Annette Spiro, Hartmut Göhler, Pinar Gönül (Hg.):
Über Putz. Oberflächen entwickeln und realisieren
Zürich 2012

Portal
18 | 2010

Interior Design
3 | 2010

Mensch + Architektur
69-70 | 2009

Photos

Zooey Braun, Stuttgart

English

Erweiterung der Waldorfschule in Freiburg St. Georgen

Die Aufgabe war nahezu identisch mit jener in Villingen-Schwenningen. Auch hier sollte die Schule um einen Festsaal, einen Hort und mehrere Klassenzimmer erweitert werden. Insofern stellt das Projekt eine direkte Weiterentwicklung der vorangegangen Schule dar.

Auch hier wird die Form der Dachkonstruktion als Gestaltungsprinzip aufgegriffen. Die Spannweiten sind größer, was der bewegten Untersicht des Daches gut tut. Die Fenster mit vorgesetzten Buntglasscheiben bestimmen das Äußere des Saalbaus. Diesem kommt städtebaulich die Hauptfunktion zu, da das Schulhaus eine Straßenecke einnimmt und damit für die Ankommenden die Adresse bildet.

Aufgrund der Plastizität des gesamten Baus – und aus Kostengründen – erhielt die Fassade einen weißen Verputz, der durch die unterschiedliche Körnung eine feine Gliederung erfuhr.

Die notwendige Treppe, die als Fluchtweg der Empore des Festsaals dient, akzentuiert den Eingangsbereich und trägt dessen Vordach. Große, mit Kupfer flächig verkleidete Türen führen zum Foyer. Dort besteht der von außen nach innen verlaufende Bodenbelag aus unregelmäßig geschnittenen Solnhofener Platten. Und auch der weiße Putz zieht sich bis ins Foyer. Im Festsaal, der direkt vom Foyer aus zugänglich ist, sind die Stahlbetonwände sichtbar. Die Holzkonstruktion des Dachs ist graublau gestrichen.

Auf der Nordseite des Foyers führen der Flur und die Treppe zu den auf drei Ebenen angeordneten Klassenzimmern in den Obergeschossen. Zwischen der Spange der Klassenzimmer und dem Festsaal liegen die beiden Eurythmieräume, die über runde Oberlichter mit Tageslicht versorgt werden.

Bauherr:
Waldorfschulverein Breisgau e.V. , Freiburg i. Br.

Architekten:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Mitarbeit:
Volker Katthagen, Katja Pütter, Veit Katavias, Sascha Korbély, Lukas Volz, Kristina Rosental

Projektsteuerung:
ImmoConsult Freiburg GmbH, Freiburg i.Br.

Tragwerksplanung:
Büro für Baurealisierung, Weil am Rhein

Prüfstatik:
Ingenieurbüro Egner, Kirchzarten

Bauzeit:
2007 – 2008

BGF:
2.688 qm

BRI:
12.196 cbm

Standort:
Bergiselstraße 11, 79111 Freiburg i. Br.

Auszeichnungen

Nominierung ECOLA-Award 2010

Veröffentlichungen

Markus Loeffelhardt:
Freiburg Neue Architektur.
Edition Quadrat. Berlin 2013

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Annette Spiro, Hartmut Göhler, Pinar Gönül (Hg.):
Über Putz. Oberflächen entwickeln und realisieren
Zürich 2012

Portal
18 | 2010

Interior Design
3 | 2010

Mensch + Architektur
69-70 | 2009

Fotos

Zooey Braun, Stuttgart