Deutsch

Educational Centre in Aschersleben

Since 1912 the centre of the small town of Aschersleben has been dominated by an oversized factory building the locals call the ‘Hecknerriese’ (Heckner’s Giant). The name comes from the man who built it, the architect Hans Heckner, who was able to erect several remarkable buildings in this town right into the 1930s. His idiom is reminiscent of Theodor Fischer’s works and is based on the concept of ‘Weiterbauen’ (continuity), which reflects aspects of today’s architectural discussions.

In recent years the large factory site had degenerated into a vacant lot – until the town decided to demolish part of the factory building, to convert its main section into an educational centre and to add an extension to it. To that end, Aschersleben had announced a competition which was to simultaneously promote the urban restructuring of the entire site with larger open spaces. These were intended to serve as the basis for a planned garden show.

We designed a long building wing extending perpendicularly to the old building, which enabled the creation of a park that bridges the district from south to north. This is the actual linking element between the town’s two large park areas, which could now be united into a continuous greenbelt.

Unfortunately, the concept of uniting three sorts of school in one structure could not be completely realised. During the planning and building, this situation led to constant corrections. What remains remarkable, however, is the notion of reinforcing the centre of a shrinking town – an excellent decision both politically and in terms of urban planning. It affords the community spaces for education which would have turned out to be less generous had the current regulations on school building been followed.

The huge dimensions of the ‘Hecknerriese’ permitted the installation of a central hall linking the individual floors via galleries. Two types of school now share this space. The new wing contains additional space for creative rooms and a gallery, which is devoted to prints of the painter Neo Rauch, who spent some of his childhood in Aschersleben.

A characteristic feature of the extension is the rhythmic rise and fall of its roofline, which mediates between the large factory building to the south and the town houses lying to the north at the other end of the district. As two school units are also accommodated there, a new educational campus has come about by dint of the way the extension has been placed.

Unfortunately the old façade could not be integrated seamlessly into the new concept because the preservation authorities are still captive to 20th century notions, wanting to see the old and the new separated by a visible joint. Apart from that, the quality of Heckner’s architecture has become visible again through the careful renovation. The extension’s façades have been covered with a sand-coloured, coarse render coat in order to produce a harmonious connection with the warm grey tones of the surrounding buildings.

Client:
Stadt Aschersleben

Architects:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Team:
Katja Pütter, Anne Egenhofer, Arno Schone, Christian Wendlandt, Marco Garcia-Barth

Project Management:
Hartewig Mölle Consult, Magdeburg

Structural Engineering:
Ingenieurbüro Fankhänel und Müller, Leipzig

Competition:
2006 – 1st prize

Construction period:
2008 – 2010

Gross floor area:
12159 square meters (total gross floor area)
7704 square meters (old building)
4455 square meters (new building)

Location:
Wilhelmstraße 22, 06449 Aschersleben, Germany

Awards

best architects 11 Award

Engere Wahl zum Architekturpreis des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt 2010

Publications

BAUKULTUR Zeitschrift des DAI
5 | 2016

Top Objekt 19
Hagemeister, 2015

Costruire in Laterizio
4 | 2014

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Klaus-Jürgen Schneider, Georg Sahner, Ronald Rast (Hg.):
Mauerwerksbau aktuell 2012.
Berlin 2012

Metamorphose
2 | 2011

Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Bau und Stadtentwicklung (Hg.):
Architektur in Deutschland. Deutscher Architekturpreis 2011.
Berlin 2011

Costruire in Laterizio
325 | 2010

Bauwelt
17-18 | 2010

Werk, Bauen + Wohnen
11 | 2010

Deutsche Bauzeitung
8 | 2010

Deutsches Architektenblatt
4 | 2010

Baumeister
1 | 2010

Best Architects Documentation
Düsseldorf 2010

Photos

Roland Halbe, Stuttgart

English

Bildungszentrum Aschersleben

Der Ortskern der Kleinstadt Aschersleben wird seit dem Jahr 1912 durch ein übergroßes Fabrikgebäude bestimmt, das im Volksmund als »Hecknerriese« bezeichnet wird. Der Name geht auf den Erbauer zurück, den Architekten Hans Heckner, der in dieser Stadt bis in die dreißiger Jahre mehrere bemerkenswerte Bauten errichten konnte. Seine an die Arbeiten Theodor Fischers erinnernde Sprache beruht auf dem Begriff des »Weiterbauens«, der Aspekte der heutigen Architekturdiskussion widerspiegelt.

In den letzten Jahren verkam das große Fabrikgelände zu einer Brache – bis sich die Stadt entschloss, unter Abbruch eines Teils der Fabrikgebäude den eigentlichen Hauptbau zum Bildungszentrum umzunutzen und um einen Neubau zu ergänzen. Dazu hatte Aschersleben einen Wettbewerb ausgeschrieben, in dem nicht nur Pläne für die Hochbauten, sondern zugleich auch die städtebauliche Neuordnung des gesamten Geländes mit größeren Freiflächen gefordert wurden. Diese sollten Grundlage und Teil einer geplanten Gartenschau werden.

Wir zeichneten einen sich senkrecht zum Altbau erstreckenden Riegel, der einen das Quartier von Süden nach Norden querenden Park ermöglicht. Dieser ist das eigentliche Verbindungsstück zwischen den beiden großen Parkanlagen der Stadt, die nunmehr zu einem Grünzug vereint werden konnten.

Leider war der Gedanke, drei Schultypen in einem Volumen zu vereinen, nicht vollständig durchzuhalten. Dieser Umstand führte während des Planens und Bauens zu ständigen Korrekturen. Bemerkenswert ist aber nach wie vor die Vorstellung, den Stadtkern einer schrumpfenden Stadt eher zu stärken – eine hervorragende politische und stadtplanerische Entscheidung. Sie bescherte der Gemeinde Räume für Bildung, die nach den aktuellen Richtlinien für Schulbauten weit weniger üppig ausgefallen wären.

Die enorme Tiefe des »Hecknerriesen« gestattete den Einbau einer zentralen Halle, die die einzelnen Geschosse über Galerien verbindet. Nunmehr zwei Schultypen teilen sich diesen Raum. Im neuen Riegel findet sich zusätzlich Platz für Kreativräume und eine Galerie, die der Druckgrafik des teilweise in Aschersleben aufgewachsenen Malers Neo Rauch gewidmet ist.

Charakteristisch für den Neubau ist das rhythmische Auf und Ab der Dachlinie, die zwischen dem großen Fabrikbau im Süden und den nördlich gelegenen Stadthäusern am anderen Quartiersende vermittelt. Da sich dort ebenfalls zwei Schuleinheiten befinden, entsteht durch die Anordnung des Neubaus ein Bildungscampus.

Leider konnte die alte Fassade nicht ohne Bruch in die neue Ansicht übergehen, weil die Denkmalpflege, noch ganz in der Vorstellung des 20. Jahrhunderts verhaftet, Alt und Neu durch eine sichtbare Fuge getrennt sehen wollte. Abgesehen davon wird durch die behutsame Sanierung die Qualität der Architektur Heckners wieder sichtbar. Die Fassaden des Neubaus sind mit einer sandfarbenen, groben Schlämme überzogen, um zu den in warmen Grautönen gehaltenen Gebäuden der Umgebung eine harmonischen Verbindung herzustellen.

Bauherr:
Stadt Aschersleben

Architekten:
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, Stuttgart

Mitarbeit:
Katja Pütter, Anne Egenhofer, Arno Schone, Christian Wendlandt, Marco Garcia-Barth

Projektsteuerung:
Hartewig Mölle Consult, Magdeburg

Tragwerksplanung:
Ingenieurbüro Fankhänel und Müller, Leipzig

Wettbewerb:
2006 – 1. Preis

Bauzeit:
2008 – 2010

BGF:
12.159 qm (Gesamtmaßnahme)
7.704 qm (Bestand)
4.455 qm (Neubau)

Standort:
Wilhelmstraße 22, 06449 Aschersleben

Auszeichnungen

best architects 11 Award

Engere Wahl zum Architekturpreis des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt 2010

Veröffentlichungen

BAUKULTUR Zeitschrift des DAI
5 | 2016

Top Objekt 19
Hagemeister, 2015

Costruire in Laterizio
4 | 2014

Lederer, Arno / Ragnarsdóttir, Jórunn / Oei, Marc (Hg.):
Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei 1.
Jovis Verlag Berlin 2012

Klaus-Jürgen Schneider, Georg Sahner, Ronald Rast (Hg.):
Mauerwerksbau aktuell 2012.
Berlin 2012

Metamorphose
2 | 2011

Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Bau und Stadtentwicklung (Hg.):
Architektur in Deutschland. Deutscher Architekturpreis 2011.
Berlin 2011

Costruire in Laterizio
325 | 2010

Bauwelt
17-18 | 2010

Werk, Bauen + Wohnen
11 | 2010

Deutsche Bauzeitung
8 | 2010

Deutsches Architektenblatt
4 | 2010

Baumeister
1 | 2010

Best Architects Documentation
Düsseldorf 2010

Fotos

Roland Halbe, Stuttgart